Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
iotakaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.04.2011, 08:41



Joined: 2010-10-06
Posts: 11

Status: Offline
      detaos wrote:
      IgnorantGuru wrote:
And I chose NVidia because of bad experience with ATI drivers in Linux.


I used to agree with you 100% about six months ago. Then cleary (a previous team member who many will remember around here) finally convinced me to give ATI a go for my next desktop build. The opensource Radeon drivers are more than sufficient for both 2D and 3D these days and have the added benefit of not having to hope that each new kernel release isn't going to break your system. I urge you to have a look at this table [ http://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature ] before buying another video card.

Enjoy.


Open source Radeon driver work fine only with old card and integrated video card. If you have a decent video card the open-source driver is not adequate.
I have an 5850 and is not well supported, some time X crash. Power saving not work (on this beast is not a good thing). The AMD blob is rarely updated and has tearing problems.

On another PC I have an nvidia 460 with blob driver (+ a kernel that support it like liquorix) all work fine I'm able to use all the power of my video card. Also at work we use nvidia (debian ad centos systems).

So my suggestion is, entry level video card, integrated: radeon, is a good choice for the rest go for a Nvidia (except on laptops avoid nvidia optimus is not well supported on linux).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.04.2011, 09:51
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

Here mentioning liquinox as "kernel that support it (nvidia driver)" is acutally rediculous...
As the patch suggested, and in the nvidia modules on towo's repo, the problem is only
one line of including unused header!

It is not kernel problem, but just module build source problem.
(or... if you put dummy header in the including directory, it would be satisified?
-- I'm not suggesting to do it. but problem is not in the kernel itself)
Using other kernel can be a band-aid solution, but IMHO not proper solution.

(well, real band-aid solution is just booting .37 kernel, unless you have other problem that only > .38 kernel can solve..)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
IgnorantGuruOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.04.2011, 12:50



Joined: 2011-03-27
Posts: 43

Status: Offline
Thanks for the alternatives and info. Personally I'm not too worried about it. I don't mind using the 37 kernel for a bit while some issues are sorted out - all part of rolling release. It was a bit confusing because it was only the second dist-upgrade I had done, but I found this thread quickly enough.

As far as third-party repos, if the contributor has gained a reputation, then dev team or not, they're part of the community - everyone chips in in different ways and I appreciate that, so thanks!

_________________
Check out my blog for useful scripts, mods and tips...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.04.2011, 13:36



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
@IG, the nvidia driver from frickelplatz should run fine on the latest slh kernel.

      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/# apt-cache policy nvidia-kernel-source
nvidia-kernel-source:
  Installed: 270.30-0~frickel.2
  Candidate: 270.30-0~frickel.2
  Version table:
 *** 270.30-0~frickel.2 0
        500 http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid/non-free amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     260.19.44-1 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ unstable/non-free amd64 Packages
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/non-free amd64 Packages
root@aptosidbox:/# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosidbox" running Linux 2.6.38-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2010-03 Ἀπάτη - kde-lite - (201012262151) ]
CPU Info        8x Intel Core i7 950 @ 8192 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 1600.000 MHz ]                                                 
Videocard       nVidia GF100 [GeForce GTX 480]  X.Org 1.9.5  [ 1920x1200@50.0hz ]                                                                           
Network cards   Marvell 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit                                                                                                               
Processes 212 | Uptime 20min | Memory 2925.2/5978.8MB | HDD KINGSTON SS100S2,OCZ-REVODRIVE,OCZ-REVODRIVE,WDC WD1002FAEX-0,WDC WD1002FAEX-0 Size 2136GB (2%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce GTX 480/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 4.1.0 NVIDIA 270.30 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.35 
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mirixOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 09:48



Joined: 2010-10-25
Posts: 28

Status: Offline
In my opinion, patching the Nvidia drivers as indicated above is clearly the simplest way to go. No kernel recompilation, no 3rd party repos, no funny kernels. You just fix the drivers by commenting out one line and off you go.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 11:47
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      mirix wrote:
In my opinion, patching the Nvidia drivers as indicated above is clearly the simplest way to go. No kernel recompilation, no 3rd party repos, no funny kernels. You just fix the drivers by commenting out one line and off you go.
I fully agree - best solution.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2011, 17:20



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 167

Status: Offline
Thanks sunu, I had to do a little more jumps since I use the debian way.

as root
      Code:
module-assistant clean nvidia-kernel-source

as user
      Code:
mkdir /tmp/1
cd /tmp/1/
tar -xjvf /usr/src/nvidia-kernel.tar.bz2
vim modules/nvidia-kernel/nv-linux.h


      snaboofypop wrote:

Comment out line 90 from kernel/nv-linux.h
Old: #include <linux> /* kernel_locked */
New: /* #include <linux> */ /* kernel_locked */


      Code:
tar -cjvf nvidia-kernel.tar.bz2 modules

as root
      Code:
cd /usr/src
cp /tmp/1/nvidia-kernel.tar.bz2 .

Then the rest depends what module assistant method one uses
      Code:
module-assistant build nvidia-kernel-source    -t -l 2.6.38-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64

dpkg -i nvidia-kernel-2.6.38-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64_260.19.44-1+2.6.38-13_amd64.deb
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
IgnorantGuruOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.05.2011, 21:12



Joined: 2011-03-27
Posts: 43

Status: Offline
Okay so today I did a d-u and the new 2.6.38-6.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 kernel came in along with an updated nvidia driver. Something seems to be fixed because it was built okay - nice job.

A minor question - I'm new to Aptosid and in the manual it says after a kernel and xorg update I should do:
      Code:
m-a a-i nvidia-kernel-source
apt-get install --reinstall nvidia-glx


But it appears that the nvidia driver was automatically rebuilt by dkms after a reboot into the new kernel (as expected), so I didn't do the above. Should I, or has this already been done automatically? Everything seems to be working without it.

Just wondering for future reference what the correct procedure is - thanks.

_________________
Check out my blog for useful scripts, mods and tips...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.05.2011, 21:22
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
dkms will work, however, aptosid uses the better dmakms, and using dmakms it is better to purge dkms

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/gpu-en.htm#nvidia


Last edited by piper on 18.05.2011, 21:33; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
IgnorantGuruOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.05.2011, 21:30



Joined: 2011-03-27
Posts: 43

Status: Offline
      piper wrote:
dkms will work, however, aptosid uses the better dmakms


Okay it does look like it was dmakms in fact.

The manual states:
      Quote:
Then activate Dynamic Module-Assistant Kernel Module Support (dmakms) for nvidia, so that the next time the Linux kernel is updated a nvidia module is prepared for it too, without manual intervention.
      Code:
echo nvidia-kernel-source >> /etc/default/dmakms


But then just below that it says:
      Quote:
When the nvidia-kernel-source is updated:
      Code:
m-a a-i nvidia-kernel-source
apt-get install --reinstall nvidia-glx


But apparently that's not really necessary if the first step (echo >> dmakms) was completed, which is what confused me. Anyway thanks for the clarification.

_________________
Check out my blog for useful scripts, mods and tips...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.05.2011, 21:38
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
You will know when you have to use this (you won't be able to get to the login screen, desktop)

      Quote:
When the nvidia-kernel-source is updated:
      Code:
m-a a-i nvidia-kernel-source
apt-get install --reinstall nvidia-glx

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
IgnorantGuruOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.05.2011, 21:41



Joined: 2011-03-27
Posts: 43

Status: Offline
Okay if I purge dkms:
      Code:
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  dkms* nvidia-kernel-dkms*


So you're saying that should be okay. I don't recall installing dkms explicitly so it seems like Aptosid included both. I'll give the purge a try, thanks.

EDIT: For the record, here is what it said:
      Code:
apt-get purge dkms
...
Removing nvidia-kernel-dkms ...

-------- Uninstall Beginning --------
Module:  nvidia
Version: 270.41.06
Kernel:  2.6.38-6.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 (x86_64)
-------------------------------------

Status: Before uninstall, this module version was ACTIVE on this kernel.

nvidia.ko:
 - Uninstallation
   - Deleting from: /lib/modules/2.6.38-6.slh.2-aptosid-amd64/updates/dkms/
 - Original module
   - No original module was found for this module on this kernel.
   - Use the dkms install command to reinstall any previous module version.
depmod....

DKMS: uninstall Completed.

-------- Uninstall Beginning --------
Module:  nvidia
Version: 270.41.06
Kernel:  2.6.37-0.slh.18-aptosid-amd64 (x86_64)
-------------------------------------

Status: Before uninstall, this module version was ACTIVE on this kernel.

nvidia.ko:
 - Uninstallation
   - Deleting from: /lib/modules/2.6.37-0.slh.18-aptosid-amd64/updates/dkms/
 - Original module
   - No original module was found for this module on this kernel.
   - Use the dkms install command to reinstall any previous module version.

depmod....

DKMS: uninstall Completed.

------------------------------
Deleting module version: 270.41.06
completely from the DKMS tree.
------------------------------
Done.
Removing dkms ...
Purging configuration files for dkms ...


which looked troublesome, but I rebooted and X still loaded okay.

_________________
Check out my blog for useful scripts, mods and tips...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.05.2011, 09:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 317

Status: Offline
      IgnorantGuru wrote:
Okay if I purge dkms:
      Code:
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  dkms* nvidia-kernel-dkms*


So you're saying that should be okay. I don't recall installing dkms explicitly so it seems like Aptosid included both. I'll give the purge a try, thanks.



See http://www.aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1224

HTH,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio